Metro Fares App Links 7 Cities

Passengers from Shanghai can now scan a QR code on the Metro Daduhui app to pay Metro fares in another six cities in the Yangtze River Delta, Shanghai Shentong Metro Group said on Wednesday.


The cities are Hangzhou, Ningbo and Wenzhou in Zhejiang Province, Nanjing and Suzhou in Jiangsu Province, and Hefei in Anhui Province.


Last December, Shanghai, Hangzhou and Ningbo became the first three cities in the region to unify digital payment methods. By the end of this year, 10 cities will be in the scheme.


Integration is not as simple as it seems, Shanghai Metro said. Different cities use different turnstile systems and settling accounts in different cities is also tricky. The metros in the seven cities all use offline QR code technology to solve the problem, allowing different phones to scan the same code on different types of turnstiles even if the Internet signal is weak.


Shanghai Metro said there are plans to extend the system to cities outside the delta region.


Source: SHINE